Tobias Wolff, Intendant of the Opera House Leipzig

Tobias Wolff, Intendant (director) of the Opera House Leipzig. zoom. 11 July 2023

Tobias Wolff (Trinity 1995) has kindly agreed to join us for a zoom discussion on his work as Intendant (director) of the Opera House Leipzig.

  • 16:00 Tokyo time, Tuesday 11 July 2023 start
    • 9:00am Germany time
    • 8:00am UK time
  • 16:15 – 17:00 (Tokyo time) Tobias Wolff, Intendant, Opera House Leipzig (zoom)
    • 9:15 – 10:00am Germany time
    • 8:15 – 9:00am UK time
  • 17:00 – 17:30 (Tokyo time) discussions
    • 10:00-10:30am Germany time
    • 900 – 9:30am UK time

Intendant Tobias Wolff

Tobias Wolff (Trinity 1995) studied for his MA in Music at Trinity College, Cambridge University, 1995-1998.

Tobias Wolff studied music at Trinity College, Cambridge from 1995 to 1998, and viola at the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen and the Robert Schumann Hochschule in Düsseldorf. He gained initial professional job experience at the International Beethoven Festival in Bonn and the Deutsche Oper am Rhein. Since 2002 Tobias Wolff has been living in Leipzig, where he initially worked as a freelance musician, concert promoter and music journalist, e.g. for the Leipziger Volkszeitung and MDR Kultur. In 2006, Tobias Wolff joined the Theater Altenburg-Gera as Chief Dramaturg and Marketing Manager. For the 2010/11 season, he took over the management of the five-branch theatre as Administrative Director and successful crisis manager. He concurrently completed an MBA at HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management in 2011, and in the same year was appointed Managing Director of the Göttingen International Handel Festival, one of the world’s longest-standing festivals for baroque music. The cultural manager re-positioned the festival internationally, introduced unconventional formats, and strategically promoted young talent and music education – receiving e.g. no less than two Helpmann Awards, the Music Education Award of the State of Lower Saxony, and EU funding for the eeemerging scholarship programme, which he co-initiated. In the Covid year 2020, Tobias Wolff was engaged in cultural politics as co-founder and spokesman of the Forum Musik Festival, an alliance of over 100 festival organisations throughout Germany.

On August 1, 2022, Tobias Wolff took over the post of the artistic director of Leipzig Opera House. He opened his first season with »Future: Now!«, an open-air spectacle in cooperation with Theater Titanick with the participation of over 220 children and students from Leipzig. Together with his management team, he initiated a consistent course of sustainability that has been awarded, among other things, funding from the Fonds Zero of the Federal Cultural Foundation, the Next Stage Grant of the Fedora network and the eku – Zukunftspreis 2023 of the Free State of Saxony. Oper Leipzig is the pilot institution of a climate calculator specially developed for the cultural sector, an innovation project of the cities of Leipzig and Dresden. Together with the National Opera of Iceland, Oper Leipzig is investigating the life cycle of costumes in the Sustainable Costumes project and will present its first climate-neutral opera production in December 2023 with Mary Queen of Scots. Oper Leipzig is currently striving for a DIN 20121 certification for its entire operations.

https://www.oper-leipzig.de/en/ensemble/person/tobias-wolff/2087

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tobias_Wolff_(Intendant)

Oper Leipzig

Leipzig Opera is the third oldest civil music theatre in Europe, founded in 1693, following the Teatro San Cassiano in Venice and the Oper am Gänsemarkt in Hamburg.

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oper_Leipzig

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leipzig_Opera

Registration and enquiries:

Prior registration required until Monday 10 July 2023. Anonymous registrations are not accepted, please introduce yourself briefly when you register.

We will upload the recording to the Trinity in Japan Youtube Channel – by participating you agree to the upload of the recording: 

https://www.youtube.com/trinityjapan?sub_confirmation=1

All Trinity members, Fellows and students globally are very welcome to pre-register, and I will send a registration link if there are still places available.

In “Your message” box please state:

  1. which event(s) you are interested to attend,
  2. your full name, briefly introduce yourself if this is your first time to attend a Trinity in Japan event,
  3. your affiliation with Trinity College Cambridge – Trinity students, PhD students are especially welcome
    • If you are not associated with Trinity College Cambridge, you may still attend as a guest in certain cases – in this case please write a short sentence why you are interested to attend and participate in the discussion,

Thank you – we ask for your understanding that “anonymous” participation (eg name unknown to us, a free email eg hotmail / gmail / yahoo etc) is not possible. We cannot answer “anonymous” requests.

    Copyright (c) 2023 Trinity in Japan Society All Rights Reserved