Trinity College Cambridge, founded 1546

Trinity College. Cambridge University. Trinity in Japan

The College of the Holy and Undivided Trinity, 700 years history

“The King’s Hall” was founded as a society of King’s Scholars on 7 July 1317 by King Edward the Second with a writ to the Sheriff of Cambridgeshire.

Trinity College, Cambridge, was founded by King Henry VIII in 1546 by combining the two older colleges King’s Hall and Michael House and seven Hostels (Catherine’s, Garratt, Gregory’s, Ovyng’s, Physwick, St Margaret’s, and Tyler’s).

Sir Isaac Newton worked at Trinity College and about 34 Nobel Prize winners are or were members of Trinity College, and many others who create huge impact to change our world for the better.

Four Fields Medal winners are associated with Trinity College: Michael Atiyah, Alan Baker, Richard Borcherds and Timothy Gowers (The Fields Medal is commonly regarded as the highest academic prize in mathematics).

King Charles III is alumnus of Trinity College.

Six British Prime Ministers are alumni of Trinity College.

Trinity College includes about 180 Fellows, 600 undergraduate and 300 graduate students.

Trinity College is part of the University of Cambridge

Nobel Prize winners who are or were Members of Trinity College

  1. 1904 Lord Rayleigh (Physics)
  2. 1906 Sir J. J. Thomson (Physics)
  3. 1908 Ernest Rutherford (Lord Rutherford) (Chemistry)
  4. 1915 Sir William Henry Bragg (Physics)
  5. 1915 Sir Lawrence Bragg (Physics)
  6. 1917 Charles Glover Barkla (Physics)
  7. 1922 Niels Bohr (Physics)
  8. 1922 Francis William Aston (Chemistry)
  9. 1922 Archibald V. Hill (Physiology or Medicine)
  10. 1925 Sir Austen Chamberlain (Peace)
  11. 1928 Owen Willans Richardson (Physics)
  12. 1929 Sir Frederick Hopkins (Physiology or Medicine)
  13. 1932 Edgar Adrian (Lord Adrian) (Physiology or Medicine)
  14. 1936 Sir Henry Dale (Physiology or Medicine)
  15. 1937 George Paget Thomson (Physics)
  16. 1950 Bertrand Russell (Literature)
  17. 1951 Ernest T. S. Walton (Physiology or Medicine)
  18. 1952 Richard L. M. Synge (Chemistry)
  19. 1962 Sir John Kendrew (Chemistry)
  20. 1963 Sir Alan Hodgkin (Physiology or Medicine)
  21. 1963 Sir Andrew F. Huxley (Physiology or Medicine)
  22. 1973 Brian D. Josephson (Physics)
  23. 1974 Sir Martin Ryle (Physics)
  24. 1977 James E. Meade (Economic Sciences)
  25. 1978 Pyotr Kapitsa (Physics)
  26. 1980 Walter Gilbert (Chemistry)
  27. 1982 Sir Aaron Klug (Chemistry)
  28. 1983 Subramanyan Chandrasekhar (Physics)
  29. 1996 Sir James Mirrlees (Economic Sciences)
  30. 1998 Sir John Anthony Pople (Chemistry)
  31. 1998 Amartya Kumar Sen (Economic Sciences)
  32. 2009 Sir Venkatraman “Venki” Ramakrishnan (Chemistry)
  33. 2018 Sir Gregory Winter (Chemistry)
  34. 2019 Didier Queloz (Physics)


Nobel Prize winners who are or were Members of Trinity College

Trinity College library: Nobel Prizes at Trinity College

Fields medal winners

Awarded every four year to two, three, or four mathematicians under the age of 40 at the congress of the International Mathematical Union. C$15,000.

  1. 1966 Michael Atiyah
  2. 1970 Alan Baker
  3. 1998 Richard Borcherds
  4. 1998 Sir William Timothy Gowers

Ken Shibata: “The College System of the University of Cambridge – The Glories of Trinity College” 「ケンブリッジ大学のカレッジ制度ートリニティ・カレッジの栄光」(in Japanese language)

Our member Ken Shibata (geologist, who has discovered the oldest rock of Japan) has written an article “The College System of the University of Cambridge – The Glories of Trinity College” 「ケンブリッジ大学のカレッジ制度ートリニティ・カレッジの栄光」which you can download in pdf format here (in Japanese language):


doi: 10.24609/nbukiyou.1.0_167

Trinity College Cambridge University

Copyright (c) 2014-2024 Trinity in Japan Society All Rights Reserved